RSS

Morning

28 Oct

Days In The Blackberries Field

a nagging magpie
strutting on the fence
instead of sun

***

umesto Sunca
šepuri se na ogradi
džangrizava svraka

 

Tags: , , ,

9 responses to “Morning

  1. Chèvrefeuille

    29/10/2014 at 3:24 am

    Long time no see Sky … how are you? What a nice haiku you share here with us … I sense Karumi in this one … well done …

    Like

     
    • Sky V

      29/10/2014 at 1:02 pm

      Hello Kristjan and thank you so much. I was pretty busy working on another blog and some kind of educational web site so I was so far of writing last few months. I caught myself a little depressed that way but I struggle with a lack of words lately. I really hope that I will be back soon. The truth is that I never leave for real 🙂

      Like

       
      • Chèvrefeuille

        30/10/2014 at 7:42 pm

        It’s good to see you again Sky … take your time … remember there are no obligations …

        Like

         
  2. mark

    29/10/2014 at 3:59 pm

    Hi Sky, hope all is well in your world. This haiku caught my eye firstly because of the reference to magpies, I just love magpies…. Did you know that they are thought to be the cleverest of all the animals…. of course you do, I wrote a blog post about magpies last year, but I do like to tell people about magpies and how brilliant they are. Anyway before I get sidetracked as you well know that I am more than capable of doing I must mention your most recent haikus collectively. I also just noticed that you were not in blog world for a little bit, I myself have not been around much either so I wouldn’t have noticed your absence….
    Anyway… Haiku, am I correct in assuming that you have abandoned the 5-7-5 structure that most people write it in. I’m so hoping that the answer is yes and not the fact that the website I told you about that counts syllables has gone a bit mad. I’m presuming it is yes because your most recent haiku have moved away from the syllable thing and might I also add that they are very good haiku. I see a definite shift and a massive improvement. And when I say massive improvement it doesn’t mean that I am implying you weren’t very good before. I myself wrote what were essentially 17 syllabled poems about nature for about 20 years until I finally grasped the concept better. It was really only last year with me when I made massive improvements and put more importance in brevity and trying to capture the briefest of moments as opposed to counting syllables. You can’t know how happy I am to have seen what’s happened here, I think it’s excellent.
    I did intend to write my comment on here yesterday but I wanted to find and animation of a magpie to accompany my comment and the next thing I knew it was 5 hours later and I had been sidetracked down many numerous paths… But aha I did find this

    Although it may look at first glance they are fighting they are really best of friends and there’s loads of other clips of them playing like this…. Brilliant isn’t it.
    Also I must mention about the inclusion of your language translation of your haikus, I think it’s an excellent idea and I think it works very well because to me, even though I don’t understand a single bit of it, I can still look at it and I think that it looks beautiful aesthetically. It looks as though could almost be Czech or Slovak.

    Anyway that’s me finished another one of my notoriously short comments. I do apologise, I’l try to put more effort in next time.

    Have fun,
    Bye.

    Like

     
    • Sky V

      31/10/2014 at 2:46 am

      Hello Mark,
      it’s so nice to hear from you again.
      Don’t worry about the length of your comments. I, personally, like to read them.
      I know that you wrote a lot about magpies and I remember your post, of course.
      Your animation is great, like always. Some real friendships between humans are like this one, aren’t they? So yes, I do believe that they are best friends and I saw something like this in my own house about 10 years ago. I will have to look in my old laptop and find a few pics of my dog, parrot and cat. Unfortunately, none of them is alive anymore but memories live.
      About the web site that you told me about, I must admit that I was absolutely addicted more then a year. Then I suddenly stopped counting. In fact, I suddenly stopped writing and I am not sure if I can still write things that I could call haiku or maybe I need something else. Let the time tell.
      Anyway, thank you so much for the visit, comment and nice words. 🙂
      I hope that all is well in your life. Do you still write?

      Like

       
  3. magicalmysticalteacher

    29/10/2014 at 6:18 pm

    “instead of sun”–what a delightful conclusion!

    Only One Feather

    Like

     
  4. Mark M. Redfearn

    30/10/2014 at 1:09 pm

    I rather like magpies myself, and don’t consider them naggers at all! 😉

    Departing

    Like

     

Feel free to share your thoughts with me ;)

 
