22501

On a drab place along the road, a bus stopped to replace travelers. Preoccupied with my own thoughts, sometimes I don’t pay attention to the signs. Signs are important, especially on a road like this. Hoping that it isn’t yet too late, I lifted a bag from the floor and put it on the seat beside mine. Then I closed my eyes, pretending to sleep. Just in case that maybe some of the new passengers wants to sit next to me. Behind the closed eyelids, I can hear my thoughts louder. I realize that I don’t know anyone for real – those that are leaving, nor those who are entering.

before my eyes
tower of sand
melting with the sea

Linked to Carpe Diem #1135 that moment …

14 thoughts on “22501

  1. A very good read. I really do like your haibun. Your opening sentence was truly wonderful. However, most of the prose is in the past and some in the present. That was a bit careless/sloppy so you should be spanked (haha!) I suggest choosing simple present as it gives the most immediacy.

    Like

      1. I liked that though. I always enjoy talking to people who have English as a second language because of the unusual way they put sentences together. It’s a hard language to master.

        Liked by 1 person

Why don't you say something? ;)

